Spacial Analysis

Posted on August 4, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Today was a very good day.  I went of to the library to use their GIS program.  It has been a while since I have used it, and when i got there, I realized I didn’t even have the Illinois shape file with me (the outline of IL).  However, after clicking around all afternoon, I managed to not only create an Illinois map, with interstates, major roads and counties (as well as census tract information), I figured out how  to get the information on  all the NPOs in my analysis into GIS and map them out a well.  When it as time to head  for dinner, I had a beautiful map that is ready to go for some spacial analysis of my data.   I have been a bit concerned that I would have to skip that part of the analysis, but now I don’t have to.  Being able to display you data on a map is much more powerful than tables… plus, map are just plain cool.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...