Analysis of the data

Posted on October 21, 2009. Filed under: e-accountability, virtual accountability |

In August I finished collecting the data for my virtual accountability study.  Since then (and I believe the last time I posted to the blog) life has been busy!  I have been teaching IUC’s MPA Nonprofit Management class, have gone to two conferences (with another next month – all of which I needed to write papers for), conducting social marketing workshops, and finally, yes finally, I am starting to get around to really analyzing the data I spent the summer collecting.   Each conference paper looked at different aspects of the data, but I am starting to get into what I am looking at for the dissertation.  Luckily, the ARNOVA paper looks at the same models.

I have been able to discern that type matters!  And so does size.  Just the descriptive statistics is somewhat telling.  For instance, while previous studies that have measured nonprofit adoption of Web sites found that about 90% had Web sites, these studies are biased towards large NPOS.  Since my study compares small and medium nonprofits against large nonprofits, a different story emerges.  Only 64% of the nonprofits in my sample have a Web sites.  Large and medium nonprofits are more likely to have one than small organizations, and arts and culture organisations have adopted Web sites more than human service organizations, and societal benefit organizations have the lowest adoption level.  While I am starting to get the chance to look at the statistical significance of the descriptive statistics, I do think that the results will be worth while.  If nothing else, they will uncover the gap in internet adoption based on organization size, and what small and medium nonprofit organizations can include in their Web sites to allow them to better compete with their larger cohorts.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...